Rest and Recovery

Posted: February 26, 2013 in Uncategorized

Image

Since I touched down in “Tally” as they call it, I’ve been treated to some great rides, amazing prehistoric like landscapes, crazy weather (including torrential rain) and a heap of much needed rest. I also took this time to recover from an injury I sustained on the last few miles of my trip. Not a crash, or “over-training” injury as most people would suspect (ppffhhh). No, this was a superb attempt to catch a Frisbee gone horrifically wrong. Extenuating circumstances leading up to this event would only highlight the accident, but I’ll spare those associated with me and get straight to it. As I turned to make a sick grab, I made some serious knee contact with a metal lighting post. I did not make the catch…

This is why I’m a bike rider and not a football player. Oh and I am the size of a horse jockey but that’s besides the point. Regardless, I brushed off the sore knee and continued on. This injury, along with doing some serious reading/ research on diet sparked my interest in really getting the necessary, nutritionally dense, alkaline, anti-inflammatory (the knee thing) all round healthy foods we all need, but often neglect. And as an active person, I tend to thrash my body to pieces and should be kinder to myself (recover faster and stronger) with a bit of solid nutrition- as we all should. Lucky for me they have farmers markets in Florida mid “winter” so Jose and I rigged up the trailer and headed out for supplies.

Image

During my down time I’ve had time to assess my training and look ahead to 2013. I’m getting super excited and hope to pin on some numbers soon. Hell, I’m stretching… and I hate stretching more than doing the dishes. I’m even getting a little nerdy with numbers, heart rate values and all that crap. And for those of you that were placing bets on my fate, I should have my precise total km’s and route all mapped out by tomorrow. A total of 28 days, 26 of them spent on the road. (A few missing below- Google doesn’t seem to think anyone will have more than “Y” destinations in one trip!)

Image

Comments
  1. vickith says:

    Glad to read that you’re learning about an alkaline diet. I believe this is super important in reducing the inflammation in our body that training and racing stress causes. I suggest reading Brendan Brazier’s books (he is a vegan but the information is still useful even for meat eaters) and Scott Jurek’s books is a good read (both for his story about how became an athlete and how he transitioned to a whole-foods alkaline diet).
    cheers,
    vicki

  2. Loved following your journey. I was beginning to wonder what had happen to you as you had not posted for a few days and you were so close to your destination. I am sure our pathes will cross on some of the Ottawa bike routes.

  3. Hey Cousin, since Google doesn’t go past Y, i can’t tell where you are headed next, but know that besides Aunt Barb in Largo, I’m in St. Augustine with lots of room for guests! Or at least I can take you for a beer! Be safe!

Leave a comment